Shiraishi at Ritz Carlton

(*edited with input from my lovely cousin*)

I’m not normally a fan of Japanese fine dining establishments because I feel Japanese food, like prosciutto, is something that you can pay too much for. I think there’s a certain point beyond which it ceases to be “worth every penny” and is just a straight drop into “obscene”.

Plus at many of such chichi places, they tend to offer sets that comprise many uninspired filler courses to make up the numbers. And that doesn’t make for a satisfying happy belly meal.

So admittedly, I was rather doubtful when my cousin suggested having dinner at Shirashi one night. But it turned out pretty awesome. Though to be honest, I think if I had gone there on my own without the benefit of their prior experience (it’s one of my cousin and her hubby’s favourite Japanese restaurants), I probably would have ended up with one of the above-mentioned uninspired sets and condemned it to my list of never-to-be-visited-again restaurants.

Shiraishi, located at Ritz Carlton, prides themselves on being one of the few Japanese restaurants in Singapore that serves authentic edomae sushi. Edo is the old name for Tokyo, and edomae sushi typically refers to seafood caught around the waters of Tokyo. So you can expect a lot of tuna, sea eels and shellfish.

We had the omakase, which is short for omakase shimasu, and roughly translates to “I trust you chef”, or chef’s choice. And we basically ate till we decided we were full.

In most restaurants, the concept of omakase is taken with a pinch of salt. i.e. it’s usually a predetermined set with said uninspired filler dishes. But I can understand why restaurants do that. The concept of leaving it solely in the hands of the chef, and keeping your fingers crossed that the chef will take one look at you and know what you’d like to eat, coupled with the fact that you’d have no inclination what the final bill would amount to, can make most a little nervous.

I was a little late getting to dinner, so the food started almost as soon as I sat down. There was no time for introductions to the dishes, and I was too hungry to stop and ask. The only thing I was asked was if there was anything raw I didn’t eat – I said no. And the food came.

20120602-090101.jpg

The appetiser. Gobo (burdock root) with carrots, sesame and lotus roots.

20120602-090112.jpg

I know this is just boiled corn and doesn’t look all that exciting. But it was really sweet and fresh all on its own. I would haven eaten the whole head, had they given it to me. 

20120602-090122.jpg

Bonito sashimi, and grilled bonito skin. I initially thought the sashimi was tuna because of the colour, but it’s bonito before it gets aged (and hardened) and made into bonito flakes. Served with ginger, spring onions and ginger flowers.

20120602-090133.jpg

Assorted sashimi – otoro, chutoro, hamachi, torigai (typically referred to as giant cockle in english, but I prefer to refer to akagai as the giant cockle because it looks closer to our version of hawker centre cockles), botan ebi and sea bream. Served with freshly grated wasabi – the chef actually grates the wasabi in front of you right before serving it, and shiso flowers.

20120602-090145.jpg

I happily threw both the shiso flowers and the wasabi into my soy sauce. I love the taste of shiso.

20120602-090155.jpg

Deep fried prawn shell – I don’t normally take this, because they usually don’t do a great job of frying it. At most places it’s oil and slightly soft, instead of crisp. This was great.

20120602-090209.jpg

In the background is the board that the wasabi is grated on.

20120602-090220.jpg

I love shellfish, and am ashamed to say I don’t actually know what this was. In my defense, it’s probably something seasonal and not oft spotted. Luckily I have my cousin who told me that this is cooked tsubugai – alright, I suppose I have no excuse for not knowing this then because tsubugai isn’t all that uncommon.

20120602-090231.jpg

The beef tataki was really really good. It was perfectly cooked, just the right amount of oiliness and practically melted in my mouth. Made only more perfect with the deep fried garlic and salt. Even the inconspicuous looking cucumber and miso in the corner were great. 

20120602-090245.jpg

This is where our sushi adventure began. I’d been staring at the little bowl with the red inside and piece of cloth since I sat down. And when it was finally placed in front of me, my first instinct was to put it in my mouth. Before everyone shrieked and said it was for wiping my fingers so I could eat the sushi with my hands. It was a bimbo moment. 

20120602-090304.jpg

Sea bream. I glanced over and my cousin’s hubby had already popped it whole into his mouth before I had time to react. I was about to reach for the soy sauce when there was another shriek. This time from the chef, telling me that this piece was already salted and lime-d, and that I should not be putting anymore sauce on it. I think the fun it is truly leaving it in the hands of the chef, and doing exactly what they tell you, when they tell you to be able to fully appreciate the experience. So, when in Rome. I gently wiped my fingers on the little cloth, picked up the sushi and popped it into my mouth. 

20120602-090313.jpg

Thinly sliced otoro with some lightly brushed soy sauce and spring onion. 

20120602-090322.jpg

Akagai. I love this because they basically look like giant see hum. This didn’t actually come with any sauce. There’s sauce on it only because I dipped it in, then remembered I wanted to take a picture.

20120602-090349.jpg

Awabi. Rather chewy, but didn’t have the fishy taste that normally comes with abalone. I’m told the crunch comes from the freshness, if it wasn’t fresh it wouldn’t be sweet or chewy.

20120602-090412.jpg

Another shellfish that I’m ashamed I didn’t manage to find out the name of. 

20120602-090422.jpg

Tuna cheek. This was my first time having it, and it was delightful. It was like a cross between chutoro and negitoro – slightly mushy, extremely flavourful.

20120602-090513.jpg

Hotate

20120602-090522.jpg

Tsubugai

20120602-090536.jpg

Anago – tasted freshly grilled, so the meat was soft unlike the supermarket variety. 

20120602-090437.jpg

Chirashi made up of all my favourite things. Uni, ikura and more of that yummy tuna cheek. The chef also thoughtfully puts dabs of freshly grated wasabi and sauce all over the bowl, so you don’t have to do much more than scoop it up and put it in your mouth. 

20120602-090445.jpg

The chirashi comes only in one size, I’m not sure which, but we made a special request for different sizes. I had the medium sized one (left), and my cousin had the small one (right). 

20120602-090456.jpg

Pickled radish.

20120602-090504.jpg

Clear soup with a giant clam. 

20120602-090548.jpg

Grilled hotate served with seaweed

20120602-090554.jpg

Ming’s (my cousin’s hubby) very crispy onigiri – grilled to an extra crisp because that’s how he likes it.

20120602-090602.jpg

Tea to end off the meal – the girls get a cute cup with a little person hanging off the side. The guys get the boring run-of-the-mill no-person-hanging-off-the-side cup.

20120602-090609.jpg

Musk melon – extremely sweet.

So if ever you feel like splurging on a meal, I would recommend Shiraishi. Reservations very necessary. And ask to sit at the counter so you can talk to the chef because that’s really part of the whole omakase experience. I wouldn’t recommend ordering off the menu because it’s limited, and you wouldn’t be able to take your eyes off the price tags.

They also do (relatively) reasonably priced set lunches that start from $30.

Shiraishi
Ritz Carlton Hotel
7 Raffles Ave
#03-01/12
Tel: 6338 3788

Leave a comment